Mind Over Matters

I heard an unknown male voice speaking. “Lexi, how are you feeling this morning? You’ve given us all quite a scare young lady!”

“I’m good, I think.” I tried to open my eyes, but the light behind the person who spoke was too bright. “Can you turn that light off?  I can’t see who is talking.?” My voice sounded unfamiliar and hoarse. “Can I have something to drink, my throat is so dry.”

“That’s good news, it appears that you are aware of your surroundings. Nurse Downey, could you get her some ice chips?”

I heard a woman answer, “Yes, of course, Doctor Engh. Is she only allowed to have ice?”

“I’ll let her answer. Lexi, how is your stomach feeling? Are you nauseated at all? If you are not, you can try some water, but I’m going to suggest just the ice chips for now. Ask her. Lexi, would you like some ice water?”

“I think that sounds great. Yes, please. Is my grandma still here?” I didn’t know what had happened to put me in the hospital, but I knew my grandma would tell me.

“Nurse Downey, have you seen her grandmother?”

“No, Doctor, Engh. The only one I saw in her room at all this week was Mr. Dexter. I believe Mrs. Picket told me he left to go back to Chicago, right before she left to take care of her husband, Joe. He just had another stroke. I hope he’s alright.”

“So do I. Now, Lexi, I’m going to ask you some questions. Answer me to the best of your ability. If at any time your head begins to hurt, tell me, and I will immediately stop with the questions. Are you ready, Lexi?”

“I think so.”

“Good, do you know your full name?”

My mind was muzzy, but I did know my name… “Lexi Bella Renaud.”

“How old are you?”

That one was harder, “I think that I’m…twenty-six.”

“You are doing great. Do you know when your birthday is?”

“My birthday?  It’s in May. On the tenth.”

The doctor pulled over a chair and sat down next to me. “Excellent. Do you know what month it is now, and what the year is?”

“I don’t know, my head is starting to hurt. Can we stop now?”

“Of, course, Lexi. Just one more important question, and then we will stop. Do you know why you are in the hospital?” He asked me the question, then began looking through his notes.

My head was pounding, and my eyes hurt. Why was I here? “I’m not sure, was I in an accident?” I put my hands on my head to rub the spot that hurt the most and instead felt a large cloth bandage wrapped around my head. “Oh, my God. What happened to me?” What was wrong, why couldn’t I remember. “Was my grandma with me in the accident?”

The doctor stood back up and walked around the bed to where a nurse was waiting. Then she put something into the tube that I noticed was still attached to my left arm. “Lexi, close your eyes and rest. We will talk tomorrow…”

mind over matters 1

Leave a Reply

